This article is published in the September 2016 issue.


VisaResearchCRA Welcomes Visa Research as its Newest Industry Member

Visa Research has recently joined CRA as one of its Lab and Center Members. Visa Research Labs is Visa’s expanded technology research division and is led by Min Wang, a CRA board member.


Margaret R. MartonosiMartonosi Named Cornell’s Andrew D. White Professor-at-Large

CRA board member Margaret Martonosi has been appointed one of Cornell University’s Andrew D. White Professors-at-Large.  Named in honor of their first President who originated the idea, Cornell established this office of non-resident professor in 1965 in celebration of their centenary.  The title Andrew D. White Professor-at-Large is bestowed upon up to twenty individuals, “from both America and abroad, who have achieved high international distinction in the various areas of science and scholarship as well as in the learned professions, public affairs, literature, and the creative arts.”  During their term, the individuals will visit the campus “to enliven the intellectual and cultural life of the university.”  Martonosi will hold this honorary, visiting professorship at Cornell while maintaining her position at Princeton.

ACM logoACM Athena Lecturer Award

The ACM Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to computer science. Each year ACM honors a preeminent woman computer scientist as the Athena Lecturer. The recipient gives an invited talk at a major ACM conference of her choice. A video of the talk is made available on the ACM website. The award carries a cash prize of $25,000. Financial support for the Athena Lecturer Award is provided by Google.

Two CCC Council members have received the award in recent years: Jennifer Rexford of Princeton University (2015) and Katherine Yelick of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2013).
Deadline:  November 30, 2016

NSF LogoNational Science Foundation Awards

The National Science Foundation is currently accepting nominations for two prestigious awards. Consider nominating an individual from your department today! The Alan Waterman Award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by NSF.  The Vannevar Bush Award honors truly exceptional lifelong leaders in science and technology who have made substantial contributions to the welfare of the Nation through public service activities in science, technology, and public policy.

Alan Waterman Award Details
Nomination Form:
Application Deadline: October 21, 2016
Award: In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient’s choice.

For more information: please see the Waterman Award fact sheet, prepared by the NSF Office of Legislative and Public Affairs:

Vannevar Bush Award Details
Nomination Form:
Application Deadline: October 3, 2016