This article is published in the January 2018 issue.


Greg Byrd Joins the CRA Board of Directors
Greg-ByrdGreg Byrd has been appointed the new IEEE-CS representative on the CRA board of directors. Byrd joins David Ebert and replaces Tom Conte on the board. CRA would like to thank Conte for his contributions during his term of service on the board.

Byrd is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at North Carolina State University, and serves as the associate department head.  His teaching and research interests include computer architecture, memory systems, and parallel computing.  Prior to joining NC State, he worked for Digital Equipment Corporation, the NC Supercomputing Center, MCNC, and Celotek.  He has also been a visiting faculty architect at IBM.  He has served on the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors since 2015, and is currently the vice president for publications.

AAAS Fellows 2017CRA Executive Director Andrew Bernat Elected 2017 AAAS Fellow
CRA Executive Director Andrew Bernat, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In addition, CRA board member H.V. Jagadish and former board member M. Tamer Özsu were also named AAAS Fellows. Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

As part of the Information, Computing & Communication section they were honored for:

Andrew P. Bernat
For distinguished service to education, to the Computing Research Association, and to the National Science Foundation.

H.V. Jagadish
For distinguished contributions to database systems and many aspects of big data and data science, specifically for new ways to share data.

Tamer Özsu
For principled contributions to database systems research, education and service.

In 2017, 396 members were awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, February 17, 2018 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

This year’s AAAS Fellows were formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on November 24, 2017.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

AAAS logo

Congratulations to the 2017 ACM Fellows

The ACM recently named 54 of its members as ACM Fellows for transformative contributions and advancing technology in the digital age. They were honored for seminal work in areas including artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, computer graphics, cloud computing, and software engineering.

From the ACM Press Release:

“To be selected as a Fellow is to join our most renowned member grade and an elite group that represents less than 1 percent of ACM’s overall membership,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “The Fellows program allows us to shine a light on landmark contributions to computing, as well as the men and women whose hard work, dedication, and inspiration are responsible for groundbreaking work that improves our lives in so many ways.”

Several CRA participants were named Fellows:

Edward A. Fox (Former CRA Board Member)
Virginia Tech
For contributions in information retrieval and digital libraries

Gregory D. Hager (CRA Board and Former CCC Council Chair)
Johns Hopkins University
For contributions to vision-based robotics and to computer-enhanced interventional medicine

Andrew K. McCallum (Former CCC Council Member)
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
For contributions to machine learning with structured data, and innovations in scientific communication

Gail C. Murphy (Former CRA-W Board Member)
The University of British Columbia
For contributions to recommenders for software engineering and to program comprehension

Tal Rabin (Former CCC Council Member)
IBM Research
For contributions to foundations of cryptography, including multi-party computations, signatures, and threshold and proactive protocol design

Congratulations to all the 2017 Fellows. Click here for the full list.

CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program Accepting Nominations

The CRA Education Committee is now accepting applications for the CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program. The program provides opportunities for Ph.D. candidates in computing fields to contribute to CRA-E projects, network with computer science education advocates on the committee, engage in advocacy for mentoring undergraduate students and promote undergraduate research and education at the national level. Faculty members are invited to nominate a graduate student by January 29, 2018. Click here for more information.