This article is published in the March 2019 issue.

2019 CRA Board Election Results and 2019-2021 Executive Committee

CRA members have elected three new members to its board of directors: Lorrie Cranor, Divesh Srivastava and Marvin Theimer. Current board members Penny Rheingans, Shashi Shekhar, and Jaime Teevan were re-elected to the CRA board. Their terms run from July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022. CRA would like to thank everyone who agreed to run for a position on the board this year. Retiring from the board as of June 30, 2019 are Ron Brachman, Chris Johnson, Josep Torrellas, and Min Wang. CRA would like to thank all retiring board members for contributions during their service on the board.

CRA Announces 2019-2021 Executive CommitteeFY20-Executive-Board
The CRA board of directors has elected new board officers to serve two-year terms beginning July 1, 2019. At the February board meeting, Ellen Zegura was elected chair; Nancy Amato was elected vice-chair; Ran Libeskind-Hadas was elected secretary; and James Allan was elected treasurer. The current executive officers (Susan Davidson, chair, Susanne Hambrusch, vice-chair, Greg Morrisett, secretary, and Ron Brachman, treasurer) will end their terms on June 30, 2019. CRA thanks them all for their outstanding service on the executive board.

Davidson with gift

CRA Board Chair Susan Davidson was presented with a gift for her service as board chair.

Lorrie-CranorLorrie Cranor
Lorrie Faith Cranor is the director and Bosch Distinguished Professor in Security and Privacy Technologies of CyLab and FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and of Engineering and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University. She also directs the CyLab Usable Privacy and Security Laboratory (CUPS) and co-directs the MSIT-Privacy Engineering Master’s program. In 2016, she served as chief technologist at the US Federal Trade Commission. She is also a co-founder of Wombat Security Technologies, Inc, a security awareness training company. She is a fellow of the ACM and IEEE and a member of the ACM CHI Academy.

DiveshDivesh Srivastava
Divesh Srivastava is the head of Database Research at AT&T Labs-Research.  He is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the vice president of the VLDB Endowment, on the ACM Publications Board and an associate editor of the ACM Transactions on Data Science (TDS).  He has served as the managing editor of the Proceedings of the VLDB Endowment (PVLDB), as associate editor of the ACM Transactions on Database Systems (TODS), as associate editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKDE), as the co-chair of the program committees of many international conferences including ICDE 2019, CIKM 2018 and AMW 2017, and as general co-chair of SIGMOD 2013.  His research interests and publications span a variety of topics in data management. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and his Bachelor of Technology from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India.


Marvin TheimerMarvin Theimer
Marvin Theimer is a distinguished engineer at Amazon. He received a Ph.D. in computer science from Stanford University in 1986. Theimer then spent seventeen years as a researcher working at IBM’s Almaden Research Center, Xerox PARC, and Microsoft Research on topics including distributed operating systems, ubiquitous computing, weakly-consistent replicated systems, peer-to-peer file systems, and global-scale peer-to-peer event notification systems. He left research in 2003 to work on Microsoft’s Advanced Web Services and High Performance Computing products. Theimer joined Amazon in 2006 and has worked on a variety of projects, ranging from EC2’s Virtual Private Cloud, to various distributed coordination services, to the Kinesis streaming data processing platform. He currently spends most of his time working with AWS’s Commerce Platform and Identity-and-Access-Management teams.