2018-2019 Scholarship for Women Studying Information Security (SWSIS) Scholars Announced

The Scholarship for Women Studying Information Security Program (SWSIS) recently announced its 2018 Scholars with the support of Applied Computer Security Associates (ACSA), the Computing Research Association’s Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W), Google, SANS, and Symantec.

Thirteen women were selected to be the 2018-2019 SWSIS scholars. SWSIS scholarships support collegiate women working to join the growing security industry. This ongoing scholarship supports talented women interested in building a career in IT security through academic funding and hands-on internship opportunities.

This year ACSA, Google, SANS, and Symantec funded 13 scholarships for undergraduates and masters’ degree candidates from colleges and universities across the United States including:

  • Boston University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • City University of New York
  • Columbia Basin College
  • George Washington University
  • Kean University of New Jersey
  • Norwich University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • State University of New York at Albany
  • University at Albany, SUNY
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • University of Tampa
  • University of Wyoming

“CRA-W is proud to be part of the SWSIS scholarship program,” said Rebecca Wright, professor at Rutgers University (@RutgersU) and co-director of the ACSA/CRA-W SWSIS scholarship program. “SWSIS has the potential to make a positive impact both on these students’ lives and on the information security workforce.”

SWSIS scholarship details

The SWSIS program was founded by ACSA, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the understanding, theory and practice of cybersecurity. The SWSIS scholarship program is a joint effort between ACSA and CRA-W.

For more information on the program please visit the SWSIS website.