Taulbee, Talent, and Trends: CRA Session at Upcoming DOE ASCAC Meeting

By CERP Staff

The Computing Research Association (CRA) will be represented by CRA staff (Betsy Bizot, Erik Russell, and Burçin Tamer) and CRA-WP Co-Chairs (Sandhya Dwarkadas and Amanda Stent) during the upcoming U.S. Department of Energy Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee (ASCAC) meeting. In their session entitled “Taulbee, Talent, and Trends”, the CRA team will be discussing trends in the computing research pipeline over time, the ways in which CRA supports that pipeline, and how CRA collects data to track that progression. You can catch “Taulbee, Talent, and Trends” from 1:00-1:45 PM ET this Thursday, September 30, 2021.

Click here to view the full agenda for the meeting held from September 29-30. The full meeting information, including the Zoom link, can be found here.

CRA-WP Welcomes Amanda Stent as its Newest Co-Chair

CRA-WP welcomes Amanda Stent as its newest co-chair, serving a 2-year term. She joins Sandhya Dwarkadas and replaces Andrea Danyluk, who has retired from the CRA-WP Board.

Stent was recently named the inaugural director of the Colby College Davis Institute for Artificial Intelligence. She previously held positions as the NLP Architect in the Chief Technology Office at Bloomberg, Director of Research and Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo, as Principal Member of Technical Staff at AT&T Labs — Research, and as Associate Professor in the Computer Science Department at Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, NY. She holds a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Rochester, has authored or co-authored over 100 papers on natural language processing, and is co-inventor on over 30 patents. Stent is one of the inaugural editors-in-chief of ACL Rolling Review, a board member of CRA-WP and an ABET program evaluator. She also currently serves on the National Academies Committee studying Responsible Computing Research.

CRA-WP would like to thank Andrea Danyluk for contributions during her service on the board since 2008, serving as co-chair from 2019-2021.

Save the Date: 2022 Grad Cohort Workshops Dates & Locations

We are excited to announce the official dates and locations for our 2022 CRA-WP Grad Cohort Workshops! Save the dates, and look out for applications beginning October 1st.

Are you a graduate student in computing-related studies, interested in interacting with successful individuals in your field who can give you advice on topics such as how to find and develop your research topic, how to prepare for your career after graduate school, and how to balance work and life?

If so, please join us at one of the CRA-WP Grad Cohorts!

Learn More:

CRA-WP Presents the 2021 CRA-WP Early Career Awards Honoring Skip Ellis and Anita Borg

CRA-WP is honored to announce the recipients of the 2021 Skip Ellis Early Career Award and Anita Borg Early Career Award. Sanmi Koyejo of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign has been selected as the 2021 Skip Ellis Early Career Award recipient. Shiri Azenkot of Cornell University was selected to receive the Distinction of Honorable Mention for this award. Finale Doshi-Velez of Harvard University has been selected as the 2021 Anita Borg Early Career Award recipient.

Expanding the Pipeline: CRA-WP Holds Virtual Grad Cohort Workshop for Women

By Susan Rodger, Maria Gini and Julia Hirschberg, CRA-WP Grad Cohort for Women Program Chairs, and Heather Wright, CERP

On April 23-24, CRA-WP was thrilled to hold the 2021Grad Cohort Workshop for Women after canceling the previous year’s event because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Grad Cohort for Women 2021 was quite different than previous Grad Cohorts as it was held virtually using the Socio event platform. The workshop still consisted of advice panels by professors and research scientists, research discussion sessions, a keynote talk, one-on-one mentoring sessions, an exhibit hall, and even food breaks complete with a customized snack box delivered in advance.  Attendance was strong with 375 students, 35 speakers and mentors, 36 sponsors and 14 staff present.

Congratulations to the 2021 SWSIS Recipients!

17 women were selected this year to receive a Scholarship for Women Studying Information Security (SWSIS). The SWSIS program provides scholarships for women studying for their Bachelors and Masters degrees in fields relating to information security. The purpose of these scholarships is to provide assistance to women at the formative stages of their careers in these fields.

Read more about the selected recipients here.

CRA-WP Thanks Retiring Board Members

Four members have retired from the CRA-WP Board of Directors. CRA-WP would like to thank all retiring board members for their contributions during their service on the board.

Sheila Castañeda
Was instrumental in the establishment of the Collaborative Research Experiences for Undergraduates program, supported website initiatives, and helped establish the first Career Mentoring Workshop Education track at SIGCSE

Melanie Wu
Co-led the Collaborative Research Experiences for Undergraduates program, and the Grace Hopper Celebration Research Scholars program

Rita Wouhaybi
Co-led the Career Mentoring Workshops and Grad Cohort Workshop for Women

Anna Karlin
Developed materials to help promote activities, and cultivated resources to help prevent sexual harassment